Rocco Turns 7

BEM_5206

I never really understood social media. I mean, I just set up a Facebook account a couple months ago. My main reasons for starting Facebook, twitter, and instagram were to make money. To use as another way to market whatever business I was working on at the time. For fun I set up at twitter account for Rocco. I thought it would be a great way for me to display my personality publicly without worrying about being politically correct for business. I also thought that I could market my pet photography through him. Never in a million years did I think I would find closer friendships than I have with local people that I have known for years. Rocco celebrated a pinnacle birthday in our eyes. He turned 7 which is the same age that Rufus passed. My goals this year were to make sure that I did not have the same regrets with Rocco as I do with Rufus. Spending more time with him and making sure he feels special and loved. I found the true power of social media today as the entire world helped me make Rocco feel special.

It started with this blog post from a dear twitter friend a few weeks before Rocco’s birthday

Dog’s and their best friends (the furry kind)

It doesn’t seem odd if you are still friends with your college roommate, but for a dog to have a few besties, it’s sort of not normal right? W R O N G.  Please understand, I do know the dangers of online friendships. We went into this as a fun thing, and frankly that’s the best policy.I have a few besties that I truly call my real besties… Why dogs have best friends? For one, we can relate to each other. If we pewp on the floor, we don’t have to be ashamed. We all did it. Can you forgive your human friend for that? I don’t think so. Not likely they get a premium seat at dinner.Another thing is we are like minded, and we sometimes need support. Often our pawrents (parents, humans) do not understand why we do certain things, and it’s great to have someone to bounce oddities off of.

We also need to know how to work the treat/extra food/extra kisses/sleep in the big bed issues. So we gather and chat about it. Sometimes we meet up in person and play together.

Our bestie is there for us when we are sad, have an illness, need a prayer, need to reassure our pawrents/family that we will be ok. Finally for another rounded reason, we love each other, really we do…

We celebrate the births of babies/puppies/marriages, and sometimes the divorces. My Mommy was so deeply touched by the out-pouring of love for us when we had a little snafu this past summer that we know our best furry friends are the real deal.

Life is very short and for one small second if we can lift each other up, celebrate a birthday, pass a smile on to someone else, it’s what we live for.

I have a few besties, they are my Bulldog Posse’
My favorite hangout is Twitter. That is where you will find my best-friends. To start with, when I first came on the scene, my first and favorite furry bulldog was Falco. When he crossed over Rainbow bridge, I felt like a part of my family passed away. I cried for days. Falco was who I aspired to be. His little brother came along shortly, @HenryFordBD and he is quite the character.

So, this is why we do what we do, if we can give 1 minute of happiness back for all that we have received, we are more than happy to do it. It’s not strange, it’s the Twitter Family way.

Our friends on twitter are not just bulldogs, we have a turtle, a parrott, and several other breeds of dogs and cats that are just as special to us. We love the Vine videos, the pictures, the stories, all of it.

When the world is grey and somber, there is a wrinkle or two online that will perk up your day. Catch a video of a bulldog playing, or Rocco opening a package, maybe even HenryFord sitting with his baby sister teaching her the ropes of misbehaving. We share a common thread but I would like to think this is what is GOOD with the world.

So from us to you, thanks for being a bestie of the very best kind! I couldn’t name everyone because of length; but know you are special to us. We look forward to your posts each and everyday.

This completely describes the entire twitter experience that Rocco and I share. A perfect example of how we treat each other was the idea our friend had to throw Rocco a twitter birthday party. We are all so close with each other in spirit but so far away in miles. The idea to bring us all together was ingenious. There have been twitter meet ups before but never as successful as this one. Gift bags were sent out to all our friends for their pups prior to the event and everyone scheduled their Saturday night to be at home to celebrate with each other. It was as if we were all at the same party in person. Many cleaned their houses the day of just as if they were having actual guests in their home! I know we did. Here was his invitation for the big event.
BTAcIipCcAALI2j
Realizing that Rocco has friends across the world and that everyone, no matter what time zone, wanted to partake another dear friend set up another party earlier. This way his “across the pond” friends could be a part of his big day. People from Italy, Australia, and UK started celebrating with him at 4 pm. It was truly an entire Saturday that the world devoted to Rocco the Bulldog. Here are some of the wishes that Rocco received through vine.





























Here are Rocco’s videos enjoying his big day.













Here is a tone of pictures of all of Rocco’s friends from his party starting with Rocco showing off the great cards he got!

BEM_5213

IMG_4691

IMG_4694

BTFwQ4fCMAAefod

BTFrTGzIcAAeITW

BTFlUVWCAAAkFsN

BTDBadlCAAAcaqn

BTDAyGKIUAEphWS

BTCxMZyIgAA5GvE

BTCxGbvIYAAl8x5

BTCx0jUCQAAQQv0

BTCsh1qIYAALw-c

BTCt4izIMAAYoyi-1

BTCtwnkCUAA3DPp

BTCubqxIEAAeRoz

BTCv9TQCMAAiviE

BTCwDbUIMAA2wRv

BTCwHtMIgAAJX_z

BTCqoi1IQAALDrk

BTCpPURIIAA9JNY

BTCoproIAAALETk

BTCo6yWIEAA1qxU

BTCNfOKIEAAgccc

BTCneJMCUAEpQyR

BTCnDEsCYAA6Zow

BTCmGmMIQAA6Jw_

BTCK4C1CIAAip5K

BTCCHb0CAAAV2_G

BTCcUMOCUAAdNQB

BTCkCt4CMAA9psi

BTCLb8TCEAAOp3s

BTCdK53IgAAz52e

BTCeRwhCQAAZBzW

BTCLGbjIMAAvKdX

BTClm_bIUAA_yrw

BTCfO3OCIAAiT5B

BTCfu8iIAAA9J-N

BTClQ96IMAE8F5k

BTCm5TCCMAAj5qG

BTCggPpIcAA4FYg

BTCMeNqCMAESTTy

BTCi84DCMAENDVg

BTC91I7CIAEU_TR

BTC9tM4CcAA-6mi

BTC7P4fCAAAzKfM

BTC4yV0CYAATYjC

BTC2wOpIcAALtUR

BTC_onPCcAADmkm

BTBZXUzIUAANvv5

BTBUY4tIQAArl41

BTAWoyzCAAANYMQ

BTAzWrdIUAAqFBj

BTBk_DdCEAAFaR8-1

BTBn5WdIcAAFIfV

BTBnGC5IUAAIQHP

BTBrApYCYAEhQnF

BTBS3SAIgAEZpV-

BTAUuULCAAIs0_f

BTAAz-PIcAEKVjt

BTAASW-IIAAVnv5

BTAARQAIMAA8AS5

BTAAhTbCIAANEC2

BTA1pv8CQAARL4W

BS_9ilkIUAA5C_g

1150286_408076009298797_785390746_n

BS__S8jIAAAvmWA

BS_-o7jIcAAsgUE

BS_3FhxCYAA_GOC

BS_6dm7CEAIV_1E

BS_8tbnIAAAphZi

An great birthday message from a great friend.

Happy Birthday to my best friend Rocco

Dear Rocco:I just wanted to take a minute to say Happy Birthday and what your friendship means to me. When I joined the #StudClub, I knew as a member there were some big expectations. I mean we have to look good, smell good, attract the ladies, be kind, and be studly. What I didn’t know is the friendships that were formed.We were so impressed with the fact that your pawrents had a Rocco Camera to keep a close eye on your over active chair sitting. You guys seemed like our kind of people. Then we saw the wedding pictures. OMD who is so genuine that they have their Bulldog at their wedding? How truly impressive. You wore that Tux so studly!  After that, we knew, we needed to be friends.

A great memory that comes to mind weekly was the heckler that came on twitter saying we spoke bulldog ebonics. We gathered the #Studclub and responded to all his posts. We ran that Bully out of our territory!!!!

Another great one was the arrival of baby sister!!! I remembering sitting waiting for baby Harpsicle to come. I was secretly hoping they made a mistake and it was a boy. Just to get the look on your pawrents face. S U R P R I S E we’re going to need a new decor. We know that didn’t happen, but I was wishing it so.

Your parents didn’t even hesitate to agree to visit with us on our planned road trip, I was going to meet my best buddy and pal. How cool was that. We are like twins, we could share clothes. I am a 38×5.

It’s been a blast posting to you on twitter, sharing our fears, our hopes, our dreams and even a treat or two. When the world was upside down, you made it all seem so right. Each night Mom puts the Vine videos on and I watch you. I love watching you with Harper. You lead us to happiness and we have loved every single moment of it.

Your Mom is hawt (my dad says) Your Dad is cooler than cool (my Mom says) Harper is ADORABULL (We all say) and you my friend are the top dog.

When we got this idea to throw you a little party it was because a day without Rocco was a sad day, and we wanted to celebrate your life and birthday. My Mom mentioned it to a few people and they were all YEAH !!! LET’S DO IT!!! That doesn’t happen for just anyone dude, you are  SPECIAL ROCCO. You have touched our lives with your unnerwear stories, your bacon and egg demands, turtle dunking, Hummer riding, scooter patroling, and the fact that you rock any single thing you do!

We hope you enjoy your day with your awesome family, and a few laughs from your Twitter family too!

Tonight is all about you and our love for you!

Man hugs to you!!! Gunner

And here is some of the food that everyone brought to Rocco’s party.

BTBat-lCIAAQaLw

BTBb1GeCUAAvPNh

BTBctG0CYAAM5y_

BTBcytJCQAEbF2a

BTBdgUcCYAEX0sb

BTBdsx6CEAAMzEi

BTBelJ5CEAAB6x5

BTBeUsKIIAAG8Ab

BTBfJp4CQAEQu9Z

BTBflkQIMAA6QUQ

BTBgAPAIIAALJhK-1

BTBgAPAIIAALJhK

BTBgHJMCIAAKj-3

BTBgNg4CIAAJRbe

BTBjOxICQAI5pq8

BTBkyUpIUAAHETk

BTBlcAQIcAA9wvt

BTBlQtNCQAANDoz

BTBlyYWCEAAX_ff

BTBmLy7CQAAcTmV

BTBmyN1IgAEuYAF

BTBonOYCQAA9uor

BTBosOvIYAEjHg8

BTBp87oIUAAMeZ4

BTBrCTbIYAA-qWx

BTBrRpaCIAAjkZ9

BTBsOwpIgAAV1gx

BTBvx4jCMAArYXw

BTBxhxPIcAEHkNt

BTCMQ2JIMAAEKN6

BTCosT_CMAA9abU

BTCpIHfIAAAtp6z

BTCrs_5CYAAg7RI

BTCVlgPIcAAfJ3b

BTCy1WrCEAALYSe

The entire event made it into The Bulldog Daily News Here

A message the day after his party:

Rocco turned 7 with a slew of friends
We tried and tried to get the pictures straight. This isnt a good representation of all the peeps that came out for Rocco’s party.

Rocco one lucky dude, he had an UK time zone party, and EST party and something in between. Today he is having a human party and we are so thrilled for him.

He has set the bar high for birthday’s I must say. Mommy has already consulted the party planner to make sure we have one half as good as his.

All the planners in the world couldn’t have made his party any more special. It was so cool seeing all his friends come together.

No fights at the water bowl, no one lifted their leg or curled their lips. Only a couple of lipstick shots and one girly girl who shall remain nameless did a little hooch dance for the old bugger.

Awesome party, Birthday number 8 will be great for Rocco!!!!!!!!!!!

A truly humbling experience all together. The idea that Rocco and I have earned the pleasure to be friends with this group is beyond amazing much less the fact that they went to all this trouble for us and our family. It gives me a completely different perspective on life. I could never give enough Thanks to all those involved!!!

THANK YOU!!!

Leave a comment